It’s a dirty job but someone (like me) can do it


It's a dirty job but someone (like me) can do it

Hey, I got an idea! I love flowers and with my try-try-again attitude with gardening, I thought I might grow some Rose of Sharon bushes/trees. For income. As a freelancer, you start to discover all sorts of ways you might make extra dough. Luckily, I get electronic newsletters from the Mother Nature Network and have a friend in Washington (state) who is a successful gardener to give me tips. I can’t wait for some flowers!

And for one who is learning to live on the cheap, recycling old garden seed planters and soil is cheaper than buying more. Just gotta fix or renew the dirt. Luckily, as a kid, I always loved to make mud pies!

About GMFarthing

Gina Farthing is a freelance journalist, writer and graphic designer. She earned her BFA majoring in graphic design and minoring in advertising, marketing and business communications. Gina has worked in Florida, North Carolina and Virginia as a copy editor, ad designer, features editor, reporter, website designer, interim city editor, graphic designer, newsletter editor and photographer for the last 18 years. She has produced various communications materials for local, national and international academic, governmental, public and private organizations, including for news media and public broadcasting service audiences. Prior to going into business for herself, Gina’s most recent employers included. Her work encompassed publications such as The Waynesboro News Virginian, the Harrisonburg Daily News-Record, the Reidsville Review, Eden Daily News, Danville Register & Bee, the Draft, Rocktown Weekly, Shenandoah Journal, North Fork Journal, the Shenandoah Valley Business Journal, The Valley Banner, Real Estate Weekly and Bloom magazine.
Image | This entry was posted in Programs and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s a dirty job but someone (like me) can do it

  1. Grow from stem cuttings will be lot of faster!

  2. GMFarthing says:

    Thanks for the tip! A fellow journalist told me that even my vegetable gardening would be easier with pre-grown plants. I don’t know… I’m kind of kooky like that… I enjoy seeing the baby plants come up πŸ˜€ But someone else has offered me some cuttings along with wisteria and maybe some mimosa!

    Something else that just came to mind… I don’t like to ask other people for cuttings from their plants, guess I feel they get attached to their “kids” like I do. And seeds are so cheap! At least I’m trying. And it feels like doing penance for tapping into the taxpayers and community generosity. πŸ™‚

  3. Some plants need to be pruned to be healthy and can promote more flowers so do not feel bad to ask for especially when they are pruning. They can always say no if they don’t feel comfortable.

  4. GMFarthing says:

    I guess I’ll have to learn when pruning time is then πŸ™‚ Thanks again! Who knows what I’ll end up with in the coming year! πŸ˜€

  5. Have fun and good luck!

Leave a Reply

