SNAP decisions – Facts about MS


ms tshirtIt’s ironic. When someone you care for comes into contact with some chronic disease, all of a sudden, you begin to hear about everyone else who has it too. Since 2005, I’ve spoken with many people who know someone with MS.

So, suffice to say, when I tell you MS is a scary diagnosis, you can take that to the bank.

I’m not going to go into what MS can do to a person; I’ll let the National Multiple Sclerosis Society enlighten you, if you’d like, by clicking here.

MS is a sneaky trickster. It doesn’t manifest itself in the same way for everyone. Only the passing of time lets someone know what they might be dealing with, maybe. Oftentimes I have found, not just with Jim’s MS, but with other “realities” as well, is that everything that happens begins to be viewed from that filtered and subjective window.

Now, don’t get me wrong. It’s not that I won’t tell all … I am a journalist after all and this blog should be evidence that subjects that people normally consider hands-off, are not by me. People who know me well or happen to have gotten the newspaper I was working for then, know that I wrote about another life event (or reality “show” as I called it in a previous post). But that life code is strictly relegated to myself.

My personal opinion (this is my blog after all) is that ethics do not necessarily equal morals. Ethics are a subset of morals, not vice versa.

So, if you want to know something about me, ask. If you want to get personal with Jim, ask him via this blog and he’ll decide if he wants to oblige and disclose his HIPAA regulated information. 😉

One thing I can tell you, from my perspective, MS is a thief. It has been stealing the man I married almost 15 years ago, away, slowly but for what seems like surely. I pray I am wrong in the end and I constantly struggle not to jump the gun.

It’s difficult at best. One day, the old hub of my life is here, now. The next, he’s a lightening shadow of how he once was. So, I try to stay in the now as much as possible. Now.

This was learned over years of and to this day, continuous and hard work. Definitely not a SNAP decision but one that is snap! 😉

 Note: So as not to appear that I am getting off subject, a visit to one of our local food pantries produced a couple of containers of prepared tuna salad. So I made us half a sub each, with a brown bread roll that we purchased from a big box bakery, sprinkled a few cheesy poofs on the side, and that is what we ate for lunch. Thank goodness there was no PICKLE RELISH in it… I hate that.

Had it had any in there, I would have eaten it, because as Mom used to say, “Beggars can’t be choosy.”

About GMFarthing

Gina Farthing is a freelance journalist, writer and graphic designer. She earned her BFA majoring in graphic design and minoring in advertising, marketing and business communications. Gina has worked in Florida, North Carolina and Virginia as a copy editor, ad designer, features editor, reporter, website designer, interim city editor, graphic designer, newsletter editor and photographer for the last 18 years. She has produced various communications materials for local, national and international academic, governmental, public and private organizations, including for news media and public broadcasting service audiences. Prior to going into business for herself, Gina’s most recent employers included. Her work encompassed publications such as The Waynesboro News Virginian, the Harrisonburg Daily News-Record, the Reidsville Review, Eden Daily News, Danville Register & Bee, the Draft, Rocktown Weekly, Shenandoah Journal, North Fork Journal, the Shenandoah Valley Business Journal, The Valley Banner, Real Estate Weekly and Bloom magazine.
This entry was posted in Organizations and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

